The Curriculum - St Joseph's Narrabeen

The Curriculum

The curriculum offered by all systemic schools in the Diocese of Broken Bay is based on NESA syllabuses.

These syllabuses clearly identify the Outcomes (the targets of each course) which provide detail of what students will be expected to know, understand and do at the end of a specific stage of learning. Teachers respond to syllabuses by designing teaching programs that take account of resources, expertise, school priorities and most importantly, student learning needs.

Ongoing assessment for learning enables teachers to make professional judgments about student achievement and to adjust the teaching program to support each student’s learning. Regular and specific feedback is provided for both students and parents to further support effective learning.

There are seven Key Learning Areas: (KLAs)

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Human Society and its Environment (History and Geography)
  • Science and Technology
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • Creative Arts

The primary curriculum is organised into Stages:

Early Stage 1: Kindergarten
Stage 1:  Year 1 and Year 2
Stage 2: Year 3 and Year 4
Stage 3: Year 5 and Year 6

Most students will be working towards the outcomes for their Stage. Some students will be working towards outcomes that are above or below their Stage.

2024 Term 1 Curriculum Information

Below is a copy of each class’s curriculum intentions for 2024. We welcome you to please contact your child’s teacher or the school directly should you wish to discuss any aspect of this more.

Kindergarten - Miss Greig Year 1 - Mrs Smith Year 2 - Mrs Fogwell and Mrs McCamey Year 3 - Miss Murray Year 4 - Mrs Jarman Year 5 - Mrs Cook & Mrs McKittrick Year 6 - Mrs Calleja
en English